For the complete documentation index, see llms.txt. Every page on this site is also served as Markdown: append `.md` to any URL, or send `Accept: text/markdown`.
Skip to content

The best AI visibility tools you can try for free first

SE Ranking has the longest trial, 14 days with no card. Writesonic and Scrunch also start without a card, and Scrunch's 7-day trial covers six engine families. Profound, Promptwatch and LLMrefs offer 7-day trials. Attensira's Starter has a 7-day trial with a card, and states exactly what is charged when it ends.

Whatever it takes to win the answer. Judged on trial length, card terms, engines in the trial and how clearly the end of the trial is stated. SE Ranking, Writesonic and Scrunch win three; Attensira wins the last.

Last verified

7 days free · card required

Perplexity · one passage of a longer answerasked

Question: affordable AI visibility tool for startups

Perplexity answered: Otterly AI — starting at $29/month; cheapest serious option for startups. Trakkr — has a genuine free tier (no credit card required). RankSmith — Starter plan around $69/month with free trial/no credit card requirement. AthenaHQ — starts at $295/month; strong for cross-platform monitoring and citation insights.

Sources cited

  1. 1arfadia.com
  2. 2wellows.com
  3. 3marketraa.com
  4. 4siftly.ai
  5. 5wellfound.com
  6. 6venturemagazine.net
  7. +3 more

Not namedAttensira is missing from this Perplexity answer.

Researcher agentResearcher · Read this answerStored answer to a related question we track, “affordable AI visibility tool for startups”, attensira.com workspace, Attensira MCP · · n=1 answer

By Karl-Gustav Kallasmaa

Updated

Researcher agentResearcher · read the AI answers shown here

Analyst agentAnalyst · counted the readings in the charts

How do they compare at a glance?

Which AI visibility tools can I try before paying, and on what terms?

Sorted by rank, low to high.

  1. 1Trial length
  2. 2No card needed
  3. 3AI engines read during the trial
  4. 4What happens at the end, stated
  • 1SE Ranking

    Trial length
    Yes
    No card needed
    Yes
    AI engines read during the trial
    Yes
    What happens at the end, stated
    Not verified· Not stated on the pricing page
  • 2Writesonic

    Trial length
    Not verified· Not stated on the pricing page
    No card needed
    Yes
    AI engines read during the trial
    Partial· ChatGPT, Gemini, Google AI Overviews
    What happens at the end, stated
    Not verified· Not stated on the pricing page
  • 3Scrunch AI

    Trial length
    Partial· 7 days
    No card needed
    Yes
    AI engines read during the trial
    Yes
    What happens at the end, stated
    Not verified· Not stated on the pricing page
  • 4Attensira(us)

    Trial length
    Partial· 7 days
    No card needed
    No· Card required at checkout
    AI engines read during the trial
    Partial· ChatGPT, Perplexity, Claude and Google AI
    What happens at the end, stated
    Yes
  • 5Profound

    Trial length
    Partial· 7 days
    No card needed
    Not verified· Not stated on the pricing page
    AI engines read during the trial
    Partial· ChatGPT, Gemini, Google AI Overviews
    What happens at the end, stated
    Partial· Next step is a demo for Enterprise
  • 6Promptwatch

    Trial length
    Partial· 7 days
    No card needed
    Not verified· Not stated on the pricing page
    AI engines read during the trial
    Partial· 4 models of your choice
    What happens at the end, stated
    Not verified· Not stated on the pricing page
  • 7LLMrefs

    Trial length
    Partial· 7 days
    No card needed
    Partial· Free account with no card; trial card terms not stated
    AI engines read during the trial
    Yes
    What happens at the end, stated
    Partial· Cancel anytime, stated
  • SE Ranking Verified

    Rank
    1
    Trial length
    Yes· 14 days
    No card needed
    Yes· No credit card required, stated
    AI engines read during the trial
    Yes· ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity, AI Mode, AI Overviews
    What happens at the end, stated
    Not verified· Not stated on the pricing page
  • Writesonic Verified

    Rank
    2
    Trial length
    Not verified· Not stated on the pricing page
    No card needed
    Yes· Start free, no credit card needed
    AI engines read during the trial
    Partial· ChatGPT, Gemini, Google AI Overviews
    What happens at the end, stated
    Not verified· Not stated on the pricing page
  • Scrunch AI Verified

    Rank
    3
    Trial length
    Partial· 7 days
    No card needed
    Yes· No credit card required, stated
    AI engines read during the trial
    Yes· ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Perplexity, Google AI Mode and Overviews, Meta
    What happens at the end, stated
    Not verified· Not stated on the pricing page
  • Attensira (us)Verified

    Rank
    4
    Trial length
    Partial· 7 days
    No card needed
    No· Card required at checkout
    AI engines read during the trial
    Partial· ChatGPT, Perplexity, Claude and Google AI
    What happens at the end, stated
    Yes· Charge stated at checkout; fee only after the trial unless you cancel
  • Profound Verified

    Rank
    5
    Trial length
    Partial· 7 days
    No card needed
    Not verified· Not stated on the pricing page
    AI engines read during the trial
    Partial· ChatGPT, Gemini, Google AI Overviews
    What happens at the end, stated
    Partial· Next step is a demo for Enterprise
  • Promptwatch Verified

    Rank
    6
    Trial length
    Partial· 7 days
    No card needed
    Not verified· Not stated on the pricing page
    AI engines read during the trial
    Partial· 4 models of your choice
    What happens at the end, stated
    Not verified· Not stated on the pricing page
  • LLMrefs Verified

    Rank
    7
    Trial length
    Partial· 7 days
    No card needed
    Partial· Free account with no card; trial card terms not stated
    AI engines read during the trial
    Yes· All supported AI search engines
    What happens at the end, stated
    Partial· Cancel anytime, stated

Who do AI engines name when you ask for a free AI visibility checker?

Across 66 answers between 24 September and 4 October, ChatGPT and Perplexity named Ahrefs in 58 and Semrush in 35. Attensira was named in none: engines answer a free-check question with free checkers, not with trials.

Mention raten=66 answers
ChatGPT and Perplexity, the prompt "free AI visibility checker" · to
NameMention rate
Ahrefs87.9%
Semrush53.0%
SE Ranking10.6%
Searchable3.0%
Otterly AI1.5%
Attensirayou0.0%
Analyst agentAnalyst · Counted who was namedAnswers to one tracked prompt, read over the Attensira MCP, attensira.com workspace · · n=66 answers

Which tools made the list, and in what order?

Attensira is our product, and it is on this list. Its entry says where it falls short, like every other entry.

  1. An SEO platform with AI visibility built into its plans, with trackers for ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity, Google AI Mode and AI Overviews. Every plan starts with a 14-day free trial and no card; the first SEO + GEO plan tracks 100 prompts a day.

    Best for: A team that wants two weeks of SEO and AI data before deciding, without a card.

    Strengths

    • Trial length: 14 days
    • No card needed: No credit card required, stated
    • AI engines read during the trial: ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity, AI Mode, AI Overviews

    Where it falls short

    • The entry plan has one manager seat, prices showed in pounds to our connection, and the product reports rather than changes pages.
  2. An AI search growth platform that tracks ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews and writes AI articles each month. Its self-serve plans start with a free trial and no credit card.

    Best for: A content team that wants to test tracking and article writing together without a card.

    Strengths

    • No card needed: Start free, no credit card needed

    Where it falls short

    • The trial length is not stated on the pricing page, and the trial reads three engines.
  3. A 7-day free trial of its Starter plan, with no credit card, covering 350 custom prompts and the Starter engine list, limited to a single brand. Starter is then $300 a month month to month.

    Best for: A team that wants to test a full paid plan, engines included, before talking to sales.

    Strengths

    • No card needed: No credit card required, stated
    • AI engines read during the trial: ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Perplexity, Google AI Mode and Overviews, Meta

    Where it falls short

    • One brand during the trial, and a week is short for a noisy signal.
  4. A trial for a team weighing a done-for-you service rather than another tracker. Starter comes with a 7-day free trial, card required, reading ChatGPT, Perplexity, Claude and Google AI. Checkout states the charge before taking the card, and the plan fee is not charged until the trial ends unless you cancel first.

    Best for: A team that wants to see the crew's work on its own brand and read exactly what it will pay before it pays.

    Strengths

    • What happens at the end, stated: Charge stated at checkout; fee only after the trial unless you cancel

    Where it falls short

    • A card is required, the trial is on Starter only and given once per account, and it reads 5 engines at most on any plan today.
    • No card needed: Card required at checkout
  5. A free trial that runs 50 prompts daily for 7 days on ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews, with limited AI Marketer credits, started without a demo; paid use is Enterprise.

    Best for: A team curious about Profound's product and agents before an enterprise conversation.

    Strengths

    • Trial length: 7 days
    • AI engines read during the trial: ChatGPT, Gemini, Google AI Overviews
    • What happens at the end, stated: Next step is a demo for Enterprise

    Where it falls short

    • The trial reads three engines, and after it the only paid plan is Enterprise, priced after a demo.
  6. A 7-day free trial on its Essential and Professional plans, where you choose four models from a long list including Grok, DeepSeek and Claude Code. Essential is then $95 a month.

    Best for: A team that wants to trial the niche engines its buyers use.

    Strengths

    • Trial length: 7 days
    • AI engines read during the trial: 4 models of your choice

    Where it falls short

    • Four models per plan, and the pricing page does not state card terms.
  7. A 7-day free trial of its one plan, $79 a month for 500 prompts across every engine it supports with no add-on fees, plus a free account that needs no card.

    Best for: A team that wants to test many prompts across many engines on a small budget.

    Strengths

    • AI engines read during the trial: All supported AI search engines

    Where it falls short

    • Reports refresh weekly, so a 7-day trial shows little movement.

What was each tool judged on?

  • Trial lengthAI answers vary day to day. A week shows you the product; two weeks start to show you the pattern. Measured by: The number of days the vendor's pricing page states for its free trial. Best on this: SE Ranking.
  • No card neededA trial without a card can be started by whoever is curious, today, without a budget conversation. Measured by: Whether the vendor's pricing page states that no credit card is needed for the trial. Scrunch, SE Ranking and Writesonic all state it; Writesonic is recorded as the winner because its whole ladder starts that way. Best on this: Writesonic.
  • AI engines read during the trialA trial that reads three engines cannot tell you about the other ones your buyers use. Measured by: The engines the vendor's page lists for the plan the trial covers. Best on this: Scrunch AI.
  • What happens at the end, statedThe surprise in most trials is the end. A page that says what will be charged and when lets you decide calmly. Measured by: Whether the vendor's page or documentation states what is charged when the trial ends and how to avoid it. Best on this: Attensira.

What would the crew ship for this question?

An example of the work: the Web engineer opens a pull request on your own site that answers the question first and sources every claim. In Draft mode, the default, it waits for you, and prices and names always do.

Pull requestyour-company/site · #209

Answer “Best AI visibility tools with a free trial” on your own site

attensirachecks passedclaim waits for you: the price line, until you confirm it

content/answers/best-ai-visibility-tools-with-a-free-trial.md

  1. added: # Best AI visibility tools with a free trial
  2. added: SE Ranking has the longest trial, 14 days with no card. Writesonic and Scrunch also start without a card, and Scrunch's 7-day trial covers six engine families. Profound, Promptwatch and LLMrefs offer 7-day trials. Attensira's Starter has a 7-day trial with a card, and states exactly what is charged when it ends.
  3. added:
  4. added: | | Rank | Trial length |
  5. added: |---|---|---|
  6. added: | SE Ranking | 1 | Yes, 14 days |
  7. added: | LLMrefs | 7 | Partial, 7 days |
  8. added: ## Which AI visibility tool has the longest free trial?
Web engineer agentWeb engineer · Opens the pull requestExample · the pull request the crew opens for this question

What do AI engines suggest when you want to start cheap?

We track "affordable AI visibility tool for startups" in our own workspace. At the top of this page is Perplexity's answer of 2 October, the one that sorted the field by trial terms: a free tier with no card, a free trial with no card, and two paid starts. On 3 October 2026, ChatGPT answered it three times in one reading. The sample shown below named Otterly.ai, AthenaHQ, Lectern, Peec AI and LLMrefs, and advised tracking twenty to fifty prompts by hand first to confirm AI visibility is a real channel before buying. Another sample listed Otterly.ai, Rankscale, AthenaHQ, Cituna, Peec AI and Profound, with prices drawn from comparison pages. Attensira was named in none.

That advice is sound, and it is what this page is about: test on your own questions before you pay. A free trial is the cheapest way to do it with a real tool, as long as you know the terms before you start.

What did ChatGPT suggest to a startup on a budget?

Asked for an affordable AI visibility tool for startups on 3 October 2026, ChatGPT named five trackers, in this order, and not Attensira.

Answer · ChatGPTasked

Question: affordable AI visibility tool for startups

Named in the answer, in order

  1. 1Otterly.ai
  2. 2AthenaHQ
  3. 3Lectern
  4. 4Peec AI
  5. 5LLMrefs

Not namedAttensira is missing from this ChatGPT answer.

Researcher agentResearcher · Read this answerStored answer, attensira.com workspace, Attensira MCP · · n=1 answer

What is the difference between a trial, a free tier and a free check?

A free trial gives you a paid plan for a fixed number of days. SE Ranking, Scrunch, Profound, Promptwatch, LLMrefs, Writesonic and Attensira offer one. It ends, and then you pay or stop.

A free tier never ends but does less. AthenaHQ's Essential tier comes with a fixed amount of credit. LLMrefs has a free account. Semrush has a free plan. They are good for a first look and for keeping an eye on a few questions.

A free check is a one-off report. Our free audit asks four engines eight buying questions about your category and shows who they name instead of you, with no signup. Ahrefs, Semrush and others offer free AI visibility checkers too. A check tells you whether to look further.

How were the four criteria chosen?

Trial length. AI answers vary from day to day, so a longer trial shows more. SE Ranking wins with 14 days.

No card. A trial without a card is one anyone on the team can start. Scrunch, SE Ranking and Writesonic all state it; Writesonic is recorded as the winner because its whole self-serve ladder starts that way.

Engines in the trial. A trial that reads three engines cannot tell you about the others. Scrunch's trial is its full Starter plan, with ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Perplexity, Google's AI surfaces and Meta.

What happens at the end, stated. The end of a trial is where surprises live. Attensira's documentation states it: the checkout shows the charge before it takes the card, the plan fee is charged only when the trial ends, and cancelling before that means no charge.

What can you learn in seven days?

More than you think, if you prepare. On day one, load twenty questions a buyer would ask before choosing a product like yours: the best tool for a job, your competitor's alternatives, comparisons by name. By day three you can see who is named instead of you on each engine, which pages the answers cite, and whether the tool's view matches what you see when you ask yourself.

What seven days cannot show is a trend, or whether a change you made worked. Answers vary from run to run; it takes weeks of daily readings to separate a real movement from chance. So judge a trial on the product, not on your numbers: can you read the full answers, see the sources, see the sample size, and understand what to do next?

What does the Attensira trial show you?

From the first day, the crew reads your site, drafts your business profile for you to check, and takes a first reading of every question you track on the engines Starter reads. You see the answers you lose, ranked, with the pages that decide each one, and you can see how work reaches a site in Attensira: as a draft pull request or a CMS draft, waiting for approval. Nothing leaves your workspace without your yes.

The trial is on Starter, given once per account, and needs a card. The charge is shown before the card is taken, and nothing is charged until the trial ends unless you cancel first.

Which questions should you load on day one?

The questions decide what any trial can show you, and most teams pick them in a hurry. Spend an hour before you start. Take five from your sales calls, the questions prospects asked before they booked a demo. Take five comparison questions: your main competitor's name plus "alternatives", and "you versus them". Take five that describe the job your product does, in a buyer's words: "how do I send invoices in two currencies", not "multi-currency invoicing". Take five that name a type of buyer: "best CRM for a ten-person agency".

Twenty questions, written that way, are enough to compare trials fairly. Keep them in a file. They are the asset you carry from tool to tool, and the same list is what you will track once you choose.

What should you write down at the end of a trial?

A short scorecard keeps the decision honest. For each tool, note five things. Whether it read the engines your buyers use. Whether you could open each answer and its sources. Whether every rate showed how many answers it rested on. What it told you to do, and whether you would do it. And what a normal month would cost for your question list, with add-ons and seats.

Then add the line most comparisons leave out: who will do the work the tool points to, and how many hours a month that is. If the answer is nobody, the cheapest tracker is still too expensive, because it produces findings nobody acts on.

How do free checkers compare with trials?

A free checker is a single snapshot: one moment, a few questions, a few engines. It is the right first step, because it tells you in minutes whether AI answers mention you at all. When we track "free AI visibility checker", Perplexity's answers name several, Ahrefs' free checker among them, alongside our own kind of tool. One of its three samples on 3 October also answered a question nobody asked, about which months have 31 days, which is a good reminder to read answers, not just count them.

A trial adds time. Over a week, readings repeat, rates form, and you see how the tool handles the variation. Our free audit sits between the two: four engines, eight buying questions proposed from your own site, who is named instead of you and, if you leave an email, the pages that decided each answer and one rewrite of one of your own pages. Nothing is changed on your site.

How should you run two trials side by side?

Start them on the same day with the same twenty questions. Compare the competitors each tool reports for the same question, and open the answers in both to see why they differ: engines, countries, sampling and the rule for when a brand counts as named all vary. Write down, for each tool, what you would do differently on Monday because of it. The tool that changes your Monday is the one worth paying for.

What happens when a trial ends?

Read the terms before you start. Some trials turn into a paid plan automatically, some stop, and some lead to a sales call. The pages we read stated card terms more often than end terms. If a page does not say, ask, and set a reminder for the day before the trial ends.

Also check what you keep. Some tools keep your questions and history if you return later; some delete a trial workspace. If the readings from your trial are worth keeping as a baseline, export them before the last day, with dates. A baseline taken before you change anything is the one thing you cannot recreate later, and it is what makes any future before-and-after honest.

How was this list made?

Seven tools were shortlisted because their own pricing pages offer a free trial of a paid AI visibility plan. Every cell was read from the vendor's own page on 4 October 2026 and links to it below. No vendor was contacted, and a cell says unknown where the page does not say. Free tiers and free checkers are covered in the text but not ranked. Attensira is our product and wins one of the four criteria. An earlier version of this page left Attensira off the list for having no trial, which was wrong.

When is Attensira's trial the wrong place to start?

When you do not want to give a card at all: start with Scrunch, SE Ranking, Writesonic or our free audit. When you need two weeks: SE Ranking's trial is longer. When you want to test engines Attensira does not read yet: Promptwatch lets you choose them. Attensira's trial is for the team that wants to see what an AI-native SEO agency would do for its brand, at the price of a tool.

Whichever trial you start, start it on a day you can give it an hour, with your twenty questions ready.

What does Attensira cost?

SEO and GEO are an investment every company now makes for AI search. Attensira gives you agency-level GEO work with tool-level control: research, writing, page fixes, placements and ads. How much you invest is your choice.

There are 3 plans and Enterprise. They differ in how many prompts you optimize towards (Starter 50, Growth 150 and Business 350) and how many credits of agent work a month each includes (300, 600 and 1,200), at 1 credit = 1¢. We sell credits: buy more any time.

See plans and credits

  • Starter50 prompts300 credits a month
  • Growth150 prompts600 credits a month
  • Business350 prompts1,200 credits a month
  • EnterpriseSized to your promptsTalk to us

Questions people ask

Which AI visibility tool has the longest free trial?
SE Ranking, with 14 days and no credit card on the pricing page we read on 4 October 2026. Scrunch, Profound, Promptwatch and LLMrefs offer 7 days, and Attensira's Starter has a 7-day free trial, card required.
Does Attensira have a free trial?
Yes. Starter comes with a 7-day free trial, card required. Checkout states the charge before it takes the card, and the plan fee is not charged until the trial ends unless you cancel first. Only Starter has a trial, and it is given once per account.
Which AI visibility trials need no credit card?
On the pages we read, Scrunch, SE Ranking and Writesonic state that no card is needed, and LLMrefs offers a free account without one. Attensira's trial needs a card. AthenaHQ's free Essential tier is not a trial at all; it does not run out on a timer.
How do I get the most from a 7-day trial?
Prepare before you start. Write twenty buying questions your customers ask, add them on day one, read the full answers and their sources by day three, and compare tools in the same week. A week shows how a product works; it is too short to show a trend.
Is there a way to check AI visibility without any trial?
Yes. Our free audit at attensira.com/audit asks four engines eight buying questions about your category, proposed from your own site, and shows who they name instead of you, with no signup. Ahrefs and others also offer free one-off checkers.

Where do these facts come from?

7 sourced claims, each with the page it was read on and the day.

  1. SE Ranking's pricing page offers a 14-day free trial with no credit card required on its plans, lists its first SEO + GEO plan with 100 prompts tracked daily and one manager seat, and its AI Search Toolkit lists trackers for AI Overviews, AI Mode, ChatGPT, Gemini and Perplexity.

    seranking.com · retrieved · changes often, check the source

  2. Writesonic's pricing page says "Start free. No credit card needed" and lists Starter tracking ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews with 15 AI articles a month.

    writesonic.com · retrieved · changes often, check the source

  3. Scrunch's pricing page offers a 7-day free trial of the Starter plan with no credit card required, 350 custom prompts and coverage of ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Perplexity, Google AI Mode and Overviews and Meta, limited to a single brand; Starter is $300 month to month.

    scrunch.com · retrieved · changes often, check the source

  4. Profound's pricing page offers a free trial of 50 prompts run daily for 7 days on ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews with limited AI Marketer credits, and an Enterprise plan reached through a demo.

    tryprofound.com · retrieved · changes often, check the source

  5. Promptwatch's pricing page offers a 7-day free trial on Essential, $95 a month for 50 prompts and 4 models, and on Professional.

    promptwatch.com · retrieved · changes often, check the source

  6. LLMrefs lists one plan at $79 a month with a 7-day free trial and cancel anytime, 500 prompts and all supported AI search engines without additional fees, and offers a free account with no credit card required.

    llmrefs.com · retrieved · changes often, check the source

Show all 7 sources
  1. Attensira's plans documentation states that Starter comes with a 7-day free trial, that checkout takes a card and states the charge before it takes it, that the plan fee is not charged until the trial ends unless you cancel first, and that only Starter has a trial, given once.

    docs.attensira.com · retrieved

Put the crew to work on your brand, 7 days free.

7 days free · card required